interiorsiorew.blogg.se

Mister retro
Mister retro






mister retro
  1. Mister retro mods#
  2. Mister retro software#

He is probably best known for his design work on Metal Gear Solid (1998) for PlayStation. In 1986, he was hired by Konami, for which he designed and wrote Metal Gear (1987) for the MSX2, a game that laid the foundations for stealth games and the Metal Gear series, his best known and most appreciated works. Regarded as an auteur of video games, he developed a strong passion for action/adventure cinema and literature during his childhood and adolescence. Hideo Kojima ( 小島 秀夫, Kojima Hideo, born August 24, 1963) is a Japanese video game designer, director, producer and writer.

mister retro

Even controller setup is way better than something like retroarch, in my opinion.Metal Gear, Snatcher, Policenauts, Zone of the Enders, Death Stranding

mister retro

I would claim that mister offers most all of the benefits of emulation with basically zero of the drawbacks. Emulation will bug me sometimes for EXACTLY the way you described - it can "get in the way" of the gaming experience when you have to tweak. So again, not arguing any specific points here, just furthering the discussion and providing personal insight. They are currently boxed up neatly, as they have been replaced by my mister. I own the analogue consoles as well, and was in the same boat as you. Sure, there is patreon support for devs, but that is still completely voluntary, and I don't think anybody is getting rich. None of them are benefitting financially in any real way from the popularity. People like smokemonster have said that they absolutely do not care if people game on a mister or not. There is an interesting wrinkle to the mister evangelists though I think they specifically do not want it to be a commercial solution. Everyone has their preferences.Įdit: I imagine it could be said that the MiSTer is the ultimate little box with tons of uses, and that's probably true, but you still have to choose a core, there's still a USB hub hanging off the device somehow, etc. I'm sure I'll get downvoted for this, and that's fine.

mister retro

I'm generally opposed to anything that erects barriers between me and a game, even if it's as simple as configuring a controller and even if it affords tons of benefits otherwise. I especially like dedicated hardware that has multiple uses, like a Mega SG supporting SMS, GG, etc with its jailbroken firmware. I am not opposed to FPGA, I just opt for commercial options using this technology instead (clone consoles, flash carts, etc).

Mister retro software#

I think software emulation is good enough for most situations if I'm unwilling to buy dedicated hardware, especially if it's optimized for the running environment. I don't want to spend ~$400 for a hacky little box that plays retro games I'd much rather spend ~$100 for a hacky little box and have the add'l flexibility of a "real" OS. What I don't like about a lot of the community-driven emulation options, regardless of how it's being emulated, is that they lack polish and they're a hassle to configure (compared to just plugging in an OEM controller, for example). I'm not interested in a MiSTer for myself until they're a little more commercially available. Hope this helps! It may still not be for you, and a pi may still be YOUR best solution. It is really exciting for those of us who have been jumping through various hoops for years in order to get the best gameplay and a/v experience with classic games. So while certainly not for everybody wanting to play retro games, a mister is the absolute best recommendation I can make for someone who wants to play the machines that it can handle with near flawless gameplay accuracy.

Mister retro mods#

However, the $300 or so for a GREAT mister setup (you can probably get everything you need for less) is still FAR LESS money than the best current alternative, which is owning original consoles, doing necessary mods to improve video quality, and purchasing flash cart solutions to have access to all games in the library of any given platform. I cannot ALWAYS tell right away that a game is emulated, but bad emulation can render a great game terrible. Many people have a strong preference for a device like the mister because of its speed and accuracy. With many games and systems, the gaming experience can be very close to real hardware. I despise the elitism game, and will not say that you are wrong. It may seem to you like the experience of playing on a pi is just as good as the real thing. The actual experience of playing on games on mister is essentially indistinguishable from playing on real hardware.








Mister retro